Founded in 1933, the first year of the Maggio Musicale Festival, under the guidance of Andrea Morosini, the Chorus has always been one of the most prestigious Italian vocal ensembles for both opera and symphonic repertoire. The Chorus has had many important Masters including Adolfo Fanfani, Roberto Gabbiani, Vittorio Sicuri, Marco Balderi, José Luis Basso, Piero Monti and, since 2013, Lorenzo Fratini.

The Chorus has also performed vocal chamber and contemporary music, with premieres by important 20th century composers such as Krzysztof Penderecki, Luigi Dallapiccola, Goffredo Petrassi, Lugi Nono and Sylvano Bussotti. Particularly significant is the collaboration with leading conductors such as Zubin Mehta, Riccardo Muti, Claudio Abbado, Carlo Maria Giulini, Bruno Bartoletti, Gianandrea Gavazzeni, Wolfgang Sawallisch, Georges Prêtre, Myung-Whun Chung, Seiji Ozawa, Semyon Bychkov, Giuseppe Sinopoli, Lorin Maazel e Daniele Gatti.

In recent years the Chorus has expanded its repertoire to include major modern and classic symphonic-choral works and took part in many tours also with the Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino.

The ability to interpret works of different periods and styles in the original language are features that have made the Chorus of one of the most admired by international critics and conductors. In 2003 it won the Grammy Award with Renée Fleming for the CD Bel Сanto and in 2013 celebrated his 80 years from the foundation with performances conducted by Lorenzo Fratini.

© International Rostropovich Festival “Mstislav Rostropovich Week”, 2010 — 2021