Resident orchestra of the Teatro Real

The Orchestra was established in 1903 and was presented at the Teatro Real of Madrid on 7th February 1904, conducted by Alonso Cordelás. The year 1905 saw the beginning of a fruitful collaboration with Enrique Fernández Arbós, which lasted three decades. After Arbos's death, several Spanish conductors took charge of the Orchestra, such as Conrado del Campo, José María Franco, Enrique Jordá and Vicente Spiteri. In 1981, by agreement with the Ministry of Culture, the Orchestra became the resident orchestra for all productions at the Teatro de la Zarzuela. Besides having worked with all the most important Spanish conductors, the Orchestra has collaborated with maestros such as as Peter Maag, Pinchas Steinberg, Kurt Sanderling, Krzysztof Penderecki, Mstilav Rostropovich, Semyon Bychkov, Armin Jordan, Peter Schneider, James Conlon, Hartmut Haenchen, Thomas Hengelbrock, Jeffrey Tate, Nicola Luisotti and Lothar Koening. Since 1997, the Orquesta Sinfónica de Madrid is in charge of providing the music for every production at the Teatro Real, with ever increasing acclaim both from the public and from the professionals and trade critics. Maestro García Navarro was the Head Conductor of the OSM from 1999 to 2002, maestro Jesús López Cobos from 2002 to 2009 and actually Ivor Bolton and Nicola Luisotti and as associate conductor. The Orquesta Sinfónica de Madrid has signed a deal with the Lyrical Theatre Foundation by virtue of which it has become the Resident Orchestra of the Teatro Real until 2026.

Among its discography's highlights are the Spanish zarzuelas and operas recorded for «Auvidis», the comprehensive recordings of Mendelssohn's Symphonies, conducted by Peter Maag, for «Arts», and the world's first recordings of Albéniz's Merlin and Henry Clifford, conducted by José de Eusebio. A significant number of its performances in the Teatro Real are being issued both in audio CDs and in DVDs.

© International Rostropovich Festival “Mstislav Rostropovich Week”, 2010 — 2021